How does a writer start the day?

The best advice I have for starting the day with a ‘writing mind’, is writing down first thoughts. You have the paper and pen by your bed, you roll over and start writing. Anything. Dreams, ideas, whatever comes into your head. I usually do about half a page. I’m a crazy news junkie, so next I feed the cats, make coffee and check what’s going on in the world. Then I get dressed for ‘work’. Nice clothes as though I’m leaving the house, Only I don’t. I sit down and I write. Sometimes the energy is so much that I have to get up and do things, like sweep the floor, and prepare tea, or whatever. There’s no getting over the fact, that writing is a profession,a job, sometimes a hard slog,and has to be taken seriously, but it is also a joy and a privilege.

Leave a Reply

