The Trouble with Writing

So, I’m writing again. But boy is it a struggle!
I’ve written a book, a teenage fantasy. (Along with thousands of other writers.) I happen to enjoy the genre, the what if factor. But I’ve struggled constantly with procrastination and just Doing It.

I read that it takes 21 days to cement a habit. So I’m writing and revising at least an hour a day in the morning, including on work days, for 21 days, which will hopefully keep me writing. Other authors I know, take the weekend off and write from 9 to 5 weekdays. Others pick the afternoons, mornings or evenings.

I figure that if I do at least an hour, then at least I’ve done that. I can always do more. If I do this for 21 days it’ll become automatic. I hope. So, I wake, I get coffee, I feed cats and birds, and I write. Simple. No matter how I feel. Rain, hail or shine.

Leave a Reply

